Sleeping with the Enemy or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Joined the AIGA

After openly criticizing the AIGA in both these, and other forums, as well as my blog, this past week I became a member of the AIGA.OK, part of it was because I have not been a member of one of our industry’s major organizations and felt it was time that changed. But of course there were tons I could have chosen to join (and some I still may end up joining) but my first choice was the AIGA.Why?I think partly because I felt like if I really wanted to see change within the industry’s largest organization, that change may need to happen from within. I suppose another reason would be because I felt encouraged by certain changes and new initiatives happening within the AIGA that I found encouraging.I think finally I joined because I felt that the AIGA simply must change and maybe it was time for me to put my money where my big fat mouth is and at least say that I was part of an effort to bring about that change, rather than shooting off my mouth from the sidelines.Either way, it’s too late now. They’re stuck with me! Heaven help them!!! ;-).chris{}

Leave a Reply

